top of page

Discover the Rich History

Our history spans for decades and is full of individual stories that have shaped the lighthouse and its journey. We invite you to learn more about the remarkable past of Cape Jaffa Lighthouse and explore the fascinating stories that have defined its role in maritime history.

History of the Lighthouse.jpg

History of the Lighthouse

The Cape Jaffa Lighthouse was originally built out to sea from Cape Jaffa on the Margaret Brock Reef, opening in 1872. The original historic lighthouse was 41 metres high and known as a Wells Screw Pile - designed to suit the local conditions.

Margaret Brock Shipwreck

The Margaret Brock was a three-masted wooden barque built at Hobart Town in 1848. At 2am on 23rd November, while travelling at a rate of six knots, the vessel struck an uncharted reef near Cape Jaffa.


Old Lightkeeper's Cottages

The original building comprised three cottages under the one roof and a large store room at the end. Today the cottages are simply ruins.

About Us

The Kingston SE Branch of the National Trust of South Australia originated in 1964. A major undertaking was made to manage the Lighthouse as well, once it had been relocated, and today, members and volunteers are committed to opening both the Lighthouse and the Museum

bottom of page